New Year’s Wishes

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-8-41-14-am

I’m not one for long, likely unattainable lists of New Year’s resolutions. Truth be told, I’m  not a fan of New Year’s in general. But this year, I’m especially unenthusiastic with the impending new administration in Washington and what the impact might be to public education.

But… the reason I started this blog was to make a negative into a positive and channel my energy and experience into something good. Rather than write about my fears and concerns, I choose to look optimistically. So here’s my wish list for public education in 2017. I hope we can focus our energy on these very attainable goals:

  • The focus of public education will be on the whole child (not the whole test).
  • Students, parents, teachers, educators, and educational researchers will be offered a seat at the table-to be a part of decision-making in policy, curriculum, and testing.
  • Universal preschool (the success of which is well-supported by research) will be available to ALL children.
  • The teaching profession will be elevated to the professional level it should be. With this, teachers will be supported, encouraged, respected, and held to a high academic and professional standard.
  • A high-quality education is available to ALL children in America; not dependent on income, zip code, or lottery.
  • Music, arts, foreign languages, creative play, recess, history, and the sciences will find their place in the school day for ALL children.

In 2017 I will continue to teach, write, research, speak out, and get involved. Nothing unattainable for me. What will you do?

I want to end with some humor today (watch the video and be sure to read the scroll at the bottom). Let’s hope teaching can one day be like this.

Happy New Year.

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-36-39-am

These are my reflections for today.

12/31/16

 

 

 

Author: Meg White

I am a lifelong educator and I hope to use this blog to reflect on what's happening in public education. These are my musings, opinions, and reflections. If you learn from them, good for us. Ignorance is no excuse. I have co-authored a book, "Questioning Assumptions and Challenging Perceptions: Becoming an Effective Teacher in Urban Environments" (available on amazon)

Leave a Reply

